My version of Homemade Laundry Detergent

When my boys were little they had skin issues and I had to take a look at the laundry detergent that I was using on their clothes.  I started buying fragrance free detergent for sensitive skin.  While researching the best brands I came across a woman who was making her own.  I decided to give it a try and haven’t gone back.  Many people are now making some very similar to this one.  Those that have crunched the numbers all agree that it saves money over all.  

Homemade Laundry Detergent

2 cups Borax

2 cups Washing Soda

1 bar Fels Naptha soap

1/2 – 1 cup Oxyclean or powdered Bio Kleen Oxygen Bleach

1. Chop the soap into small pieces and throw in the food processor with 1 cup of Washing Soda.  Borax is too fine to use and gets a bit too dusty.  If you don’t have a food processor you can use a cheese grater, but its a big pain.

2. Mix all ingredients in a big bowl.

3. I use 2 Tbsp for a small load and 4 Tbsp for large loads and a little extra if it’s a super icky load.

4. I usually mix up a few batches at once and store it in ice cream pails.

All ingredients can be found at Walmart in the Laundry aisle, except for the Oxygen Bleach which I haven’t tried yet but have only seen on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

